Free vs paid TEFL courses: is a $29 course worth it?
See what free TEFL offers include and what $29 adds, with a practical comparison of certificates, support, study access and costs.
- Published
- Updated
- Reading time8 min read
- About the team
- Editorial policy
Yes, you can get a TEFL certificate for free. But for US$29, simpleTEFL adds what the free course we compared doesn’t advertise: a named accreditor you can check (ACCREDITAT), tutor support while you study, and lifetime access. You also get job support, the 120-hour course and a digital certificate after successful completion.
The decision starts with what “free” includes. A full course with a certificate, free study with a paid certificate, and a short teaching workshop are different offers. Here is how to compare them and decide whether a small paid upgrade is worth it for you.
We run simpleTEFL, the paid course discussed here. We checked the linked providers’ published course pages and policies on 30 September 2026. This is a comparison of their advertised offers, not a hands-on review of every course. Where a service is not specified, we say so.
Can you get a TEFL certificate for free?
Yes. TeacherRecord advertises a free 120-hour online TEFL course, including its tests and electronic certificate. A printed copy is optional.
It helps to distinguish three offers you may encounter:
- Free training and an included certificate. TeacherRecord is one example. Compare the curriculum, access period and services alongside the price.
- Free study with a certificate available to buy. Alison lets learners study and complete courses for free, with certificates available to purchase. It also provides a free Learner Record as evidence of completion. That record and a purchased certificate are different documents. Alison’s explanation
- Free professional development on a particular topic. For example, the British Council’s Helping teachers to learn course offers focused training and a certificate of achievement. Read what a course covers before comparing it with a full introductory TEFL programme. British Council course details
“Free” only describes the price. It’s important to check the syllabus, assessments, certificate and services a free course includes. The same checks are useful for paid courses, including ours.
What is the difference between a free course and a $29 course?
Here are two specific 120-hour offers: TeacherRecord’s free course and simpleTEFL’s US$29 course. Comparing named packages is more useful than assuming that every free or paid course works the same way.
| What you receive | TeacherRecord | simpleTEFL |
|---|---|---|
| Course fee | Free | US$29, one time |
| Stated course hours | 120 hours | 120 hours |
| Independent accreditation | Described as internationally recognised; no accrediting body named on the course page reviewed | ACCREDITAT-accredited; listed on ACCREDITAT's client page |
| Tutor support | Not specified on the course page reviewed | By email; included |
| Job support | Help finding TEFL jobs advertised | CV/application feedback and job leads on request; included |
| Access to course materials | 12 months of campus access | Lifetime access |
| Digital certificate after successful completion | Included | Included |
| Online certificate verification | Available | Available |
| Printed certificate | Optional purchase | Optional purchase |
Sources: TeacherRecord course and certificate FAQ; simpleTEFL course and certificate information. Course information checked, and simpleTEFL support details confirmed by our team, on 30 September 2026. The prices above exclude optional printed certificates and delivery. A service not specified on a reviewed page may still be available; ask the provider if it matters to you.
For simpleTEFL, the extra US$29 buys verifiable accreditation, tutor and job support and lifetime access. That is useful if you want someone to ask while studying and the freedom to return to the materials as your teaching plans develop.
Stated hours alone do not show how a course teaches or assesses you. Open the syllabus too: look for explanations, examples and practice that will help you prepare lessons, teach language skills and manage a class.
How much will your course and certificate actually cost?
Compare the total for the version you need: course access + assessment + certificate + any optional services you choose. In the two offers above, the digital-certificate route is US$0 with TeacherRecord or US$29 with simpleTEFL.
Before enrolling in any course, check these four things:
- Certificate format. Is a downloadable certificate included? Do you need a printed copy, or would digital evidence suit your application?
- Assessment and retakes. Are assessments included, and what happens if you need another attempt? simpleTEFL includes unlimited assessment retakes in its course price. Course details
- Access and extensions. Will the study period fit around work, family and other commitments? Check extension charges if you think you will need longer.
- Extras for your particular application. If an employer or relevant authority requests translation, legalisation or another document service, establish the requirement and cost separately.
Optional extras are not automatically hidden fees. What matters is knowing what you need and what the advertised price includes before you start.
How soon can you use your certificate?
Finishing the lessons and receiving the certificate can be separate steps. If you have an application deadline, check the assessment and certificate process before choosing a course.
TeacherRecord’s FAQ says identity verification normally takes 5–10 working days, with the certificate issued after approval. Allow for that step when planning an application.
simpleTEFL provides the digital certificate after you successfully complete the course and pass its assessments. The certificate can be verified online, so an employer can check it. See the certificate and verification details
Keep three questions separate: how long you have to study, when you receive your certificate, and whether that certificate has an expiry date. Losing access to course materials does not, by itself, tell you that a certificate has expired. Check the provider’s terms for each.
Will a free or paid TEFL course suit the job you want?
Start with the type of job or platform you’re targeting, and compare your course against its requirements. A course price alone cannot tell you whether a certificate fits them. Look for the qualification, training hours and any specific assessment or teaching-practice requirements named in the application.
Platform-specific goals can have their own route. Preply, for example, offers its tutors a free course and assessment that can lead to its Professional Tutor badge. That is a badge pathway for tutors on Preply; it should not be confused with the requirements for every teaching job. Preply’s Professional Tutor guidance
If a job advert is unclear, send a specific question with the course link:
I'm considering [course name] from [provider]. It is an online course advertised as [number] hours. Would this meet the teaching-qualification requirement for [role]? Is there a particular certificate format or additional training you require? This gives the employer something concrete to check. Our TEFL certification guide explains the main qualification options if you are still deciding which route to take.
What does simpleTEFL include for $29?
The one-time price includes the 120-hour course, tutor and job support, lifetime access and your digital certificate on successful completion. There is no separate payment to unlock the digital certificate. What the price includes
The current curriculum covers TEFL foundations, grammar and sentence structure, classroom management, teaching language skills and lesson planning. For a first-time teacher, that connects knowing English with planning how someone else will learn it. Explore the course content
The course is accredited by ACCREDITAT. You can read the accreditation details and view the certificate information before enrolling.
Lifetime access also gives the materials a use beyond your final assessment. When you begin preparing classes, you can return to the relevant topics without a course-access deadline.
Does the $29 course include tutor and job support?
Yes. You can contact our team by email for tutor and job support, both included in the US$29 course fee. Here is what that means in practice:
- Help while you study: email us with questions about the course material.
- CV and application feedback: ask for feedback as you prepare to apply for teaching work.
- Job leads on request: contact us when you are looking for teaching opportunities.
“the team went above and beyond to help me with a specific documentation request for my international applications.”
— Taiba Zebsa, 5-star Trustpilot review, 29 May 2026. Read the full review on Trustpilot
For a first-time teacher, this is a practical reason to choose a paid course. You have somewhere to take questions during your studies, then help with presenting yourself to employers and finding opportunities to apply for.
When comparing other providers, ask what their support includes too. Course help, application feedback and a jobs board serve different needs. Compare the services you expect to use. Explore simpleTEFL’s course
Why is simpleTEFL affordable?
We keep our running costs low. Our small, focussed team works remotely, and we can pass those savings on to our customers.
That lets us offer an accredited course at an accessible price. Paying more can make sense for particular services you want, such as scheduled live classes or observed teaching practice. When you compare a higher-priced course, look at which of those features it includes: a higher price doesn’t, on its own, mean better training.
How should you choose between free and paid TEFL?
Choose around your budget, your teaching goal and how you want to study:
- If your budget is strictly zero: check a genuinely free course with an included certificate against your goal. Establish the access terms and certificate process before starting.
- If you want affordable training with help along the way: simpleTEFL brings accredited 120-hour training, tutor and job support, lifetime access and a digital certificate together for US$29.
- If you are exploring teaching or adding a particular skill: focused free training can be a useful starting point or supplement to a full course.
- If you already have a TEFL certificate: identify what you still need to learn or access before buying another course. Compare the training and support that would help you take your next step.
For a beginner who wants to keep costs down while having support and flexible study access, simpleTEFL is a straightforward choice at US$29. You can work through the course at your own pace and keep the materials to revisit later.
The course has a 30-day money-back guarantee for eligible purchases; the refund policy explains the conditions.
Frequently asked questions
Does a free TEFL course always charge for the certificate?
No. Some free courses include an electronic certificate; others offer free study with a certificate to buy. Check the specific course and certificate format before you start.
Does simpleTEFL charge extra for the digital certificate?
No. Your digital certificate is included in the US$29 course price after successful completion. A printed copy is optional and costs extra. Certificate information
Can I take the course around work or other commitments?
Yes. simpleTEFL is self-paced and includes lifetime access, so you can arrange your study around your schedule and return to the materials later. Course details
Should I buy another course if I already have a free TEFL certificate?
Base that decision on what you still need: further training, access to support, or a qualification specified by a particular employer. If your existing certificate meets your goal, paying for a second certificate alone adds little. Compare the syllabus and services before enrolling again.
